Wanted: Songwriter of the Year

AKM and aus­tro mechana proud­ly present the cat­e­go­ry “Song­writer of the Year” at the AMADEUS Aus­tri­an Music Awards. Are you our win­ner? Pre­req­ui­site is the ful­fill­ment of the fol­low­ing par­tic­i­pa­tion cri­te­ria. We look for­ward to receiv­ing your appli­ca­tion, which must reach the Aus­tri­an Com­posers’ Soci­ety by the end of Decem­ber.

Cri­te­ria for par­tic­i­pa­tion:

  • Song­writ­ers main place of res­i­dence is Aus­tria and/or Aus­tri­an cit­i­zen
  • sub­mit­ted com­po­si­tion / song must have been first pub­lished in 2018 and be com­mer­cial­ly avail­able (The date of the first pub­li­ca­tion is checked by AKM / aus­tro mechana.)
  • the com­po­si­tion / song must be attrib­ut­able to one of the Amadeus gen­res: Alter­na­tive, Jazz / World / Blues, HipHop / Urban, Elec­tron­ic / Dance, Hard & Heavy, Pop / Rock, Pop, Folk Music
  • Only one com­po­si­tion / song of the same song­writer may be sub­mit­ted.

Appli­ca­tion doc­u­ments:

  • com­plet­ed form
  • mp3 of the sub­mit­ted song (128 kbit/s) (no .mp4 or .wav! — only mp3 sub­mis­sions are con­sid­ered)

Both must be sent by e-mail to schade@Komponistenbund.at dur­ing the appli­ca­tion peri­od (sub­ject: Song­writer-Amadeus). Incom­plete or late sub­mis­sions can not be con­sid­ered.

Appli­ca­tion peri­od Novem­ber 20 to Decem­ber 31, 2018.

A pan­el of experts will deter­mine the five final­ists (=nom­i­nees) from all sub­mis­sions. The announce­ment of the nom­i­nees will take place in mid-Feb­ru­ary. Then the online audi­ence can vote for their favorite song­writer, the com­bi­na­tion of online vot­ing and jury vot­ing (50:50) will deter­mine the win­ner. Pub­lic vot­ing takes place at www.amadeusawards.at. The award cer­e­mo­ny will take place dur­ing the Amadeus Award Show on April 25, 2019.

Songwriter of the Year — previous winners

2018  folk­shil­fe – Flo­ri­an Ritt, Gabriel Haider (Musik & Text), Paul Slav­iczek (Musik), Math­ias Kained­er (Text)  „Mir laungts“

2017  Lemo „Him­mel über Wien“

2016  Seil­er & Speer „Ham kumst“

2015  Thorsteinn Einars­son, Lukas Hille­brand, Noa Ben-Gur, Alex Pohn  „Leya“