Login Formular


ALAI European Authors’ Right Award 2024–25

Lesedauer: 3 Minuten

Guide­lines for the 7th edition

ALAI, a world­wide net­work of aca­d­e­mics and copy­right experts, wants to encour­age young researchers to par­tic­i­pate in aca­d­e­m­ic work and pro­vide them the oppor­tu­ni­ty to show­case their views and research on authors’ right/copyright by enter­ing an essay competition.

The award is sup­port­ed by GESAC, the Euro­pean Group­ing of Soci­eties of Authors and Com­posers, which serves as an umbrel­la organ­i­sa­tion of authors’ soci­eties in Europe and advo­cates for ade­quate pro­tec­tion of authors’ rights and interests.

The author of the win­ning essay receives an amount of 2,000 Euros. If the jury decides to award a sec­ond essay, the sec­ond win­ner will receive 1,000 Euros.

  • The winner(s) will also receive:
    a free reg­is­tra­tion to attend the inter­na­tion­al ALAI Con­gress, that of the year of the award or the fol­low­ing year (no trav­el or lodg­ing expens­es are includ­ed); and
  • a free mem­ber­ship reg­is­tra­tion in a nation­al ALAI group dur­ing the year fol­low­ing the award (2026) (the winner(s) home coun­try group or the nation­al group of the coun­try where the winner(s) stud­ies or resides).

ALAI and GESAC may organ­ise an award cer­e­mo­ny. In this case, the winner(s) receive(s) an addi­tion­al lump sum of 500 Euros to cov­er trav­el and lodg­ing to attend the event. The win­ning essay(s) will be pub­lished on the web­sites of ALAI and GESAC. ALAI and GESAC can make fur­ther sug­ges­tions as to legal reviews which might be appro­pri­ate and will­ing to pub­lish the win­ning essay(s).

The essay must:

  • be relat­ed to authors’ rights/copyright;
  • have a Euro­pean dimen­sion (this may include a com­par­i­son of third-coun­try sys­tems with those of the EU);
  • include aspects that could be of inter­est to the col­lec­tive man­age­ment of authors’ rights/copyright.

With­in this frame­work, the appli­cants will be free to select the spe­cif­ic issue for which they sub­mit their applications.


  • master’s stu­dents or new­ly master’s grad­u­ates (year 2024) from any uni­ver­si­ty in the world (min­i­mum 4th year ter­tiary, master’s lev­el, LL.M, pre-doc­tor­al or doc­tor­al lev­el students/researchers);
  • can­di­dates must be under the age of 35 on 16 Novem­ber 2024;
  • can­di­dates must have been rec­om­mend­ed to apply by at least one IP pro­fes­sor at a recog­nised uni­ver­si­ty / faculty;
  • the essays to be sub­mit­ted for the com­pe­ti­tion can be a new work specif­i­cal­ly pre­pared for the com­pe­ti­tion or be based on anoth­er aca­d­e­m­ic work still in progress or already com­plet­ed and pre­sent­ed at an aca­d­e­m­ic insti­tu­tion in 2023.


Eli­gi­ble stu­dents wish­ing to par­tic­i­pate in the com­pe­ti­tion must provide:

  • a com­plet­ed and signed appli­ca­tion form;
  • an abstract of the essay they wish to sub­mit (max­i­mum one-page sum­ma­ry, approx­i­mate­ly 2000 characters);
  • if their abstract is select­ed, an essay of max­i­mum 30,000 char­ac­ters (exclud­ing spaces), or approx­i­mate­ly 15 pages (exclud­ing spaces, pos­si­ble annex­es, and bibliography);
  • abstracts and essays in Word for­mat in either Eng­lish or French.


The jury for the 2025 edi­tion of the award is chaired by Pro­fes­sor Frank Gotzen, Pres­i­dent of ALAI and is com­prised of two ALAI representatives:

  • Paul Tor­re­mans, Pro­fes­sor of Intel­lec­tu­al Prop­er­ty Law, Uni­ver­si­ty of Nottingham
  • [TBC]

and two rep­re­sen­ta­tives of GESAC:

  • Car­o­line Bonin, Head of Legal Affairs, SACEM
  • Gábor Falu­di, out­side Coun­sel for Artisjus, Asso­ciate Pro­fes­sor ELTE Law School Civ­il Law Department.

Selec­tion procedure/Key dates

  • the can­di­dates must sub­mit their appli­ca­tion form and an abstract of the essay (see the part on For­mat) they intend to present, at the lat­est by Novem­ber 15, 2024;
  • the jury will make a first selec­tion based on the abstracts sub­mit­ted by the can­di­dates. The result of this pre­lim­i­nary selec­tion will be com­mu­ni­cat­ed to can­di­dates on Decem­ber 15, 2024;
  • the short-list­ed can­di­dates will need to sub­mit their com­plet­ed essay (see the part on For­mat) at the lat­est by: Feb­ru­ary 15, 2025;
  • the jury will select the winner(s) and the results will be com­mu­ni­cat­ed to the can­di­dates in the first half of April 2025.

The jury reserves the right not to name a win­ner if the qual­i­ty of the essays is deemed insufficient.

Apply here: The ALAI Euro­pean Author’s Right Award, sup­port­ed by GESAC

Artikel teilen!

Susanne Lontzen
Susanne Lontzen 


Artikel teilen!